gluten-free-spices

The Gluten in Your Spice Rack: 3 Surprising Facts

Herbs and spices are simple. They are usually ground, shredded or whole seeds or leaves. No gluten there, right? Well, not so fast.

While bottled herbs and spices that contain just one ingredient are almost always gluten-free, there are a few secret sources of gluten that may be lurking in your spice cabinet.

Here are 3 surprising facts about gluten in herbs and spices…

-

  1. Asafoetida (hing), a common spice in Indian cooking, nearly always contains wheat flour.Asafoetida is a powder made of dried gum of a root called ferula. It is known for its unpleasant smell and its delicious oniony, garlicky flavor. It is an important part of many Indian dishes. Although the powder is naturally gluten-free, it is almost always manufactured by diluting it significantly with wheat flour.The only American company making a verifiably gluten-free asafoetida is Frontier Naturals, which makes an asafoetida powder that is cut with rice flour instead. When eating at Indian restaurants, be sure to ask if asafoetida (often referred to as hing) was used in the preparation of your meal.
  2. Taco seasoning is not always gluten-free.Taco seasoning in bottles or packets usually contains a blend of spices such as cumin, cayenne, garlic and more. It generally also has flavoring agents and fillers such as monosodium glutamate (MSG), maltodextrin, and flour. MSG is gluten-free, though some people have reactions to it. In the U.S., maltodextrin is gluten-free unless the packaging specifies that it is derived from wheat. Flour is obviously problematic for celiacs, and it is a listed ingredient in several brands of taco seasoning, including Lawry’s and Pace.There are several gluten-free brands, such as Ortega and McCormick’s, which make gluten-free taco seasoning, and you can also easily make your own from scratch. Be similarly cautious about Cajun seasoning and other blends – wheat flour is not a common ingredient; luckily, gluten-free replacements are always available.
  3. Bulk herbs and spices purchased from bulk bins may be cross-contaminated.If you purchase your herbs and spices from bulk bins or jars, be sure the store hasn’t previously stored spice mixes (taco seasoning, Cajun seasoning, etc.) or asafetida (hing) in the same bin or jar. Bulk containers are not always cleaned well, they can be difficult to clean completely, and they may be a source of cross-contamination. Take care that Indian spices bought in bulk were not exposed to asafetida in particular.

The general rules about gluten-free shopping apply when spice shopping. Read labels, and know which brands are reliable about avoiding cross-contamination and labeling allergens.

McCormick’s and Frontier are two brands that are especially consistent about disclosing any gluten-containing ingredients clearly on the packaging. Now that the FDA requires allergen labeling for wheat, all brands should disclose in the ingredient list if there is wheat in any products, but they may not declare barley, rye or (non-gluten-free) oats based ingredients as clearly. In addition, some brands label their gluten-free products as such in a clear place on the label, which can help make shopping easier.

Although gluten is present in some spice mixes, gluten-free alternatives abound, and recipes for making them from scratch abound as well. Making spice mixes from scratch also helps you avoid MSG, preservatives, fillers and flavorings.

buy-celiact-module

Author Info

Giliah Nagar

Comments ( 11 )

  • Jeanette

    What about white pepper? There are brands that add flour to white pepper.

  • Leanna

    Very helpful article. Thanks for highlighting those hidden sources. I just discovered wheat/gluten in a spice blend that incorporated dry soy sauce. Just when you think your pantry is safe something new pops up. We celiacs just can’t be too careful and thorough. I’ll have to remember to remind my family about the taco seasoning as they love cooking Mexican for me when I come over! Thanks for all the great articles. You are one of my favourite sources for good info.

  • Melisa

    “There are several gluten-free brands, such as Ortega and McCormick’s,”
    I just wanted to clarify that the McCormick brand itself is not gluten free. Their taco seasoning is, but their Chili seasoning, which I had always used, is not. For chili, I’ve switched to William’s Original, which is gluten and msg free.

  • Carin Dorn

    I have been taking the CeliAct for 2 weeks. It says the intake is 6 tablets a day. Seems like an awful lot. Very large tablets also, cut mine in half just to swallow them.

  • Kim Mixon

    Excellent article esp. for people just starting out on the gf journey. Thank you for sharing.

  • Misty G

    Taco seasoning that is 100% Gluten Free is Lysanders. Their web site is funky so I pick them up at the store. Of course my local store no longer carries them. I am trying to find another store to purchase it from.

  • Neil

    Why does the FDA need to debate the use of “gluten free” on labels? If it is not possible to assure that a product is truly gluten free, then those two words should not appear on the label. Perhaps the label could state that the product contains no more than 20 ppm of gluten. In other words, a truthful label.

  • Heidi

    Thank you for this information. I must say that I had to learn this lesson the hard way. The Cajun seasoning I had used for ever had gluten in it. I couldn’t figure out why I didn’t feel good until one day I decided to check ALL my dry herbs and spices. I was shocked. I love to cook and had never thought I was making myself and my daughter sick by seasoning our food.

  • Michele

    Thank you for this eye-opening article -I’m always careful of spice blends but wasn’t aware of the cutting of asafoetida. Kalustyan’s in NYC makes their asafoetedia with rice flour, though it does not say whether they use safe manufacturing practices to make sure that the rice flour is not cross contaminated

  • Julie

    Has anyone here had a bad reaction to oregano or rosemary (dried in bottle, not fresh). I’ve developed a bad stomachache twice after eating chicken I prepared with these herbs. I’ve cooked with oregano for years so I’m thinking it must be the rosemary (or maybe it was the chicken, but my son ate it and had no problem.) Thanks.

  • Dave

    you notice any diff on them carin?

Post a Comment