Kellogg Reveals Gluten-Free Eggo Waffles

kellogg-reveals-gluten-free-eggo-waffles Kellogg’s has recently revealed that their Eggo waffles are now gluten-free. Their tasty waffles are available in two flavors: original and cinnamon. This is super exciting news for celiac and gluten sensitive consumers, as breakfast-on-the-go options are slim. Gluten-free Eggo waffles have hit shelves across the country and are available in the frozen food sections of your grocery store and Kellogg has insisted that they have gone above and beyond to make sure that the waffles maintain their “crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside” texture that Eggo waffles are known for. Read on for more regarding this exciting announcement! Coming on the heels of General Mill’s announcement of gluten-free Cheerios, Eggo waffles are joining […]

Read more

3 New Gluten-Free Flour Alternatives

3-new-gluten-free-flour-alternatives We all know it well. Living a gluten-free lifestyle means we are constantly on the lookout for gluten-free flour alternatives. We’ve tried buying mixes, mixing our own flour at home, adding xanthan gum, adding potato starch, you name it. For the gluten-free community, the search for flour alternatives never ends. We are always ready to try new things, new blends, new flavors and textures. So when we heard about these new gluten-free flour alternatives hitting the market, we just had to share the scoop with you! Believe it or not, things like banana, coffee and green peas are being ground into flour and are hitting the gluten-free market.   1. Coffee Flour Dan Belliveau created coffee flour […]

Read more

6 Things You Need to Know Before Going Gluten-Free

6-things-you-need-to-know-before-going-gluten-free Over the past few years, what we know about gluten and our awareness concerning celiac and gluten-free eating has skyrocketed. According to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, as many as 1 in 133 Americans have celiac, while upwards of 18 million have some non-celiac sensitivity to gluten. Research, awareness, products and resources are making leaps and bounds before our very eyes concerning celiac, gluten sensitivity and gluten-free dieting. Before you begin a gluten-free diet, you should know what you’re getting into. We’ve compiled a list of six important rules of thumb for anyone about to embark on a gluten-free lifestyle:   #1: Get Tested For Celiac First Talk to a doctor and undergo testing […]

Read more

Best News Ever: Cheerios Are Going Gluten-Free

best-news-ever-cheerios-are-going-gluten-free Breakfast options just got a whole lot more exciting! General Mills announced yesterday that beginning this July, five Cheerios products will be going gluten-free: Original Cheerios, Honey Nut, Multi-Grain, Apple Cinnamon and Frosted. This decision is said by General Mills to be years in the making and a reaction to as much as 30% of Americans avoiding gluten in their diets. What grains are Cheerios made from, anyway? How will they be made now? And why did it take General Mills three years to make this change? We’ve got the scoop for you as well as an awesome video from General Mills, announcing the news!   So What Grain are Cheerios Made from, Anyway? Cheerios […]

Read more

Gluten-Free Sweets for Valentine’s Day

gluten-free-sweets-for-valentines-day It’s February, folks! And you know what that means, chocolate! Whether you’re surprising a crush, spoiling your significant other, treating your co-workers or picking up candy for your kids to hand out at school, you’re probably wondering just which brands of chocolate and candy are gluten-free. This can be tricky, as so much of the candy catered towards Valentine’s Day is seasonal and some of your most reliable gluten-free candy brands can make Valentine-specific treats that contain gluten or are prepared in shared facilities. While we have done some general candy guides in the past, this Valentine’s Day we’ve decided to highlight the specialty Valentine’s Day candy to make sure that you and your families have a […]

Read more